Ian Brotherhood


Born  1963, Glasgow, grainy childhood, angstish teen, bevvy, Art School, bevvy, dole, bevvy, cuckolded, Tokyo, Japanese bevvy, back to Glasgow, dole, bevvy, shifted to Ayrshire with Yvonne – Aidan and Joy arrive.  Sleeves up…

Cult fiction Tales of The Great Unwashed published in Variant magazine, Scottish Arts Council bursary, shortlisted for Tartan Shorts Award, winner Robert Louis Stevenson Fellowship, Unwashed stories produced/broadcast by Resonance FM London. Ian is the author of Bulletproof Suzy, published by Myrmidon Books.

For more information on Ian you can visit his blog here: ianbrotherhood.wordpress.com

Samantha David

samantha2Samantha David is a columnist and, she says, a bad journalist. “There’s always the temptation to make it up” she confesses. “That’s why I like writing books. So much easier”.

In spite of the temptations of the imagination, Samantha is the author of The Complete Guide to Living in France, and writes articles for a variety of websites including BBC Online, Channel 4 and Guardian Abroad – and print titles including the FT and the Sunday Times.

She also writes regular columns about life in France for Living France and the Languedoc Page. You can see more examples of her journalism on her website www.samantha-david.com.

In her spare time she talks to dogs and plays the piano. She lives in France with her family and a menagerie of animals.

I Married a Pirate will be her first published novel.

Tan Twan Eng

Twan IMG_2492-03Tan Twan Eng was born in Penang, Malaysia. He divides his time between Kuala Lumpur and Cape Town.

The Gift of Rain, his first novel, was Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. It has been translated into Italian, Spanish, Greek, Romanian, Czech and Serbian.

His latest novel is The Garden of Evening Mists, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012. Boyd Tonkin in The Independent called it: ’an elegant and haunting novel of art and war and memory… Tan writes with breath-catching poise and grace, linguistic refinement and searching intelligence… His fictional garden cultivates formal harmony, but also undermines it. It unmasks sophisticated artistry as a partner of pain and lies. This duality invests the novel with a climate of doubt; a mood – as with Aritomo’s creation – of “tension and possibility”. Its beauty never comes to rest.’

It has been translated/will be translated into German, French, Italian, Serbian, Spanish, Dutch, Polish, Taiwanese Chinese, Indonesian, Korean and Norwegian.

The Garden of Evening Mists won the Man Asian Literary Prize in March 2013.

In June it won the Walter Scott Prize 2013, from a shortlist of authors which included Hilary Mantel, Rose Tremain, Thomas Keneally, Pat Barker and Anthony Quinn.

The Garden of Evening Mists was also shortlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2014.

For information on Tan Twan Eng please visit his website here: www.tantwaneng.com

Toby Frost

Toby FrostToby Frost studied law and was called to the Bar in 2001. Since then, he has worked as a private tutor, a court clerk and a legal advisor to the motor industry. Unable to become Great Britain’s foremost space explorer, he is content just to write about space exploration instead. He has also produced film reviews for the book The DVD Stack and articles for Solander magazine.

Toby is the author of four fantastic steampunk novels called Space Captain Smith, The God Emperor of Didcot, Wrath of the Lemming Men and A Game of Battleships.

For more information on Toby please visit his website here: www.tobyfrost.com

Dawn Garisch

Dawn GarischDawn Garisch has published three youth novels and poetry, has had a short play and a short film produced, and has written for the newspaper and for television. She runs workshops on creativity and is a practising medical doctor. Her fascination lies in relationships, process and conflict, and the power of images and the imagination. Garisch has two grown sons and lives in Cape Town. Once, Two Islands is her first novel for adults.

For more information on Dawn please visit her website here: www.dawngarisch.bookslive.co.za

Jon Grahame

Jon GrahameJon Grahame is the pseudonym of journalist and writer Denis Kilcommons who won the John Creasey Award from the Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain for his first book The Dark Apostle. He has had books published under his own name and as Peter Lacey. Reaper is the first of a trilogy of post-apocalyptic novels published by Myrmidon Books. Angel, the second in the trilogy, is due to be released in March 2014, shortly followed by the final in the trilogy, Redemption. These are the first books under the name of Jon Grahame.

For more information on Dennis please visit his website here: www.deniskilcommons.com

Colin Ingram

Colin IngramColin David Ingram lives with his wife and young family in Paisley, Renfrewshire. After legal training he worked for several years as a debt collector and is now a hospital nurse. The Stone Gallows is his first novel.

Raj Kumar

raj kumarRaj Kumar is an artist and designer. He and his wife now live in the southern hemisphere after they met whilst living and working in Saudi Arabia.

David Morrell

David MorrellCanadian born David Morrell studied American Literature at Pennsylvania State University and later became Professor of English at the University of Iowa, a post he held for 16 years before giving up his tenure to write full time. He is the bestselling author of First Blood (the basis for the blockbuster Rambo movies) The Brotherhood of the Rose, The Fifth Profession and Extreme Denial among many others. Three-time recipient of the distinguished Bram Stoker Award, his books have been published around the world in 26 languages and there are 18 million of his books in print.

For more information on David please visit his website here: www.davidmorrell.net


Tim Murgatroyd

Tim MurgatroydTim Murgatroyd is an English teacher who lives with his family in York. He has remained fascinated by ancient China since his teens, when he discovered a slim volume of Chinese poetry in a second hand bookshop.

Taming Poison Dragons, Breaking Bamboo and The Mandate of Heaven are Tim’s first books and chronicle the turbulent events of the Mongol invasion of China.

More information on Tim can be found on his website: www.timmurgatroyd.com